Status of National Communication from Bangladesh under UNFCC

The UNFCCC was one of three conventions adopted at the 1992 “Rio Earth Summit” (Others are the Convention on Biological Diversity and the Convention to Combat Desertification). 192 countries around the world have joined an international treaty that sets general goals and rules for confronting climate change.

The Convention divides countries into three main groups according to differing commitments:

Annex I

Parties include the industrialized countries that were members of the OECD (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development) in 1992, plus countries with economies in transition (the EIT Parties) including the Russian Federation, the Baltic States, and several Central and Eastern European States.

Annex II

Parties consist of the OECD members of Annex I, but not the EIT Parties. They are required to provide financial resources to enable developing countries to undertake emissions reduction activities under the Convention and to help them adapt adverse effects of climate change. In addition, they have to “take all practicable steps” to promote the development and transfer of environmental friendly technologies to EIT Parties and developing countries. Fund provided by Annex II Parties is channeled mostly through the convention’s financial mechanism.

Non-Annex I

Parties are mostly developing countries. Certain groups of developing countries are recognized by the Convention as being especially vulnerable to the adverse impacts of climate change, including countries with low-lying coastal areas and those prone to desertification and drought. Others (such as countries relying heavily on income from fossil fuel production and commerce) feel more vulnerable to the potential economic impacts of climate change response measures. The Convention emphasizes activities that promise to answer the special needs and concerns of these vulnerable countries, such as investment, insurance and technology transfer. The 49 Parties classified as least developed countries (LDCs) by the United Nations are given special consideration under the Convention considering their limited capacity to respond to climate change and adapt to its adverse effects. Parties are urged to take into account the special situation of LDCs when considering funding and technology-transfer activities.

National Communication

The core elements of the national communications for both Annex I and non-Annex I Parties are information on emissions and removals of greenhouse gases (GHGs) and details of the activities a Party has undertaken to implement the Convention. National communications usually contain information on national circumstances, vulnerability assessment, financial resources and technology transfer, and education, training and public awareness.

Guidelines for the preparation of initial national communications from non-Annex I Parties were adopted at COP (Conference of the Parties) 2 in Geneva in 1996. COP 5 (Bonn, 1999) established a Consultative Group of Experts (CGE) on National Communications from Parties not included in Annex I to the Convention in order to improve the process of preparation of national communications by non- Annex I Parties. At COP 8 (New Delhi, 2002) Parties adopted the revised guidelines for the preparation of national communications from non-Annex I Parties and decided to continue the mandate of the CGE. The preparation of second and, where appropriate third and initial national communications are based on these revised guidelines.

Of the 153 non-Annex I Parties, 137 have submitted their initial national communications (as at 26 May 2010), 25 their second national communications (as at 28 June 2010). 92 non-Annex I Parties are presently engaged in the preparation of their second national communications.

[Most of the 41 Annex I Parties submitted their first report, national communication, in 1994 or 1995, their second in 1997-1998 and the third after 30 November 2001. The fourth national communications were due on 1 January 2006. Annex I Parties were requested to submit a fifth national communication to the secretariat by 1 January 2010.]

First national communication from Bangladesh was submitted on 12 November 2002. Preparation of Second National Communication of Bangladesh is under progress. Bangladesh Center for Advanced Studies (BCAS), a non-governmental research institute, has been rewarded with the project from Government through Department of Environment (DoE) funded by United Nation Development Program (UNDP) to prepare the national green house gas inventory of Bangladesh. (Another Bangladeshi organization Center for Environmental and Geographic Information Services (CEGIS) is also working on certain points of the SNC under UNFCC).

National Communication
Ministry of Environment and Forests
Bangladesh Secretariat Room
1309, Building 6 Ramna, Dhaka
Phone (88-02) 966-9088
Fax (88-02) 716-9210


To cite this article, please use following information:

(use the given format or any standard citation format)

Mohiuddin, M., Status of National Communication from Bangladesh under UNFCC, ChE Thoughts 1 (1), 6-7, 2011.


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.